Paul Savary

 Paul Savary

PhD Student
+33 (0)7 64 49 78 23
...

I started in october 2017 a PhD project about the potential of the joint use of landscape graphs and genetic graphs to analyse the ecological connectivity of habitat.

2013 - 2017: Student engineer at AgroParisTech (Paris Institute of Technology for Life, Food and Environmental Sciences) with a major in Management of Natural Areas in Nancy (ex-ENGREF)

2015: Erasmus exchange at Wageningen University (Netherlands). Courses from masters of Environmental sciences and Forest and Nature Conservation

2011 - 2013: Two-year preparation (equivalent to a NHD in biology) for the highly selective French agronomy engineering schools entrance (Admitted to AgroParisTech) at the University of Bordeaux (Cycle Préparatoire de Bordeaux, CPBx)

2017: Student Assistant Research at INRA (French Institute for Agricultural Research, UMR Biodiversité, Agroécologie et Aménagement du Paysage) in Rennes with S. Aviron, A. Alignier and J. Baudry: Statistical analysis of the effect of landscape and agricultural practices evolution on the pluriannual dynamics of carabid species assemblages in the Zone Atelier Armorique (Long Term Ecological Research, Ille et Vilaine, France)

2016: Assistant Environmental Engineer in the Asociación de Ciencias Ambientales (Madrid, Spain): Analysis of the ecological connectivity in the Rio Henares watershed, gathering of information about water management and biodiversity, website management, as part of the "Proyecto Rio Henares"

2015: Assistant Park Ranger at Puyehue National Park (Lakes Region, Chile): Creation of the virtual herbarium of the park, patrols in the park, mapping, environmental education animations

2014: Assistant Environmental Engineer in the association ATHENA (Loir et Cher, France): Creation of a biodiversity indicator for the hedgerows network of the region Perche. Implementation on the field and presentation of the tool to the local stakeholders (Perche Regional Natural Park) 

The objective of my PhD project is to develop, experiment and compare methods of ecological connectivity modelling combining two graph-theoretic approaches: landscape graphs and genetic graphs. This coupling should allow to benefit from the advantages of both approaches. It could improve modelling methods used by biodiversity managers in order to take conservation measures.

This work draws upon landscape genetics studies, a field study at the interface between landscape ecology and population genetics.

The PhD project is funded by the ARP-Astrance company under a CIFRE contract. My supervisors are Jean-Christophe FOLTÊTE (UMR ThéMA, director), Stéphane GARNIER (UMR Biogéosciences, Dijon, co-director) and Hervé MOAL (ARP-Astrance, Paris, operational supervisor).

Landscape genetics, landscape ecology, ecological connectivity, dispersal, gene flow, population genetics, spatial statistics, graph theory, network analysis

Oral communications:

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., & Foltete, J. C. Analysing gene flow in heterogeneous landscapes: why and how to use genetic graphs? IALE World 2019, July 2019 - Milan [Oral communication]

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., Vuidel, G., & Foltête, J. C. Quand et comment utiliser des graphes génétiques pour analyser le flux génétique dans des paysages hétérogènes? Petit Pois Déridé 2019, June 2019 - Gif sur Yvette [Oral communication]

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., & Foltête, J. C. Expanding genetic graphs' potential to analyse ecological connectivity: assessment of graphs construction methods. 6th Young Natural History Scientists' Meeting, March 2019 - Paris [Oral communication]

Posters :

Savary P., Baudry J., Aviron S., Alignier A. Dynamique pluriannuelle des assemblages d'espèces de carabes en réponse à l'évolution du paysage et de sa gestion. Rencontres d'Ecologie des Paysages, October 2017 - Toulouse. [Poster]

Tools and applications :

Savary P. graph4lg: Build Graphs for Landscape Genetics Analysis. CRAN, July 2019. https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/graph4lg/index.html [R package]

Strony internetowe

Paul SAVARY

 Paul SAVARY

Doctorant
+33 (0)7 64 49 78 23
...

J'ai débuté au mois d'octobre 2017 une thèse traitant des modalités d'utilisation conjointe des graphes génétiques et paysagers pour l'analyse de la connectivité écologique des habitats

2013 - 2017 : Cursus Ingénieur AgroParisTech spécialisé en Gestion des Milieux Naturels à Nancy (ex-ENGREF)

2015 : Echange Erasmus à l'Université de Wageningen (Pays-Bas). Suivi des cours des masters Environmental sciences et Forest and Nature Conservation

2011 - 2013 : DEUG de Biologie dans le cursus CPBx Bio-concours de l'Université de Bordeaux 1

2017 : Stage de fin d'études dans l'UMR INRA Biodiversité, Agroécologie et Aménagement du Paysage à Rennes encadré par S. Aviron, A. Alignier et J. Baudry : Analyse statistique de l'effet de l'évolution du paysage et de sa gestion sur la dynamique pluriannuelle des communautés de carabes de la Zone Atelier Armorique (Ille et Vilaine, LTER France)

2016 : Stage dans l’Asociación de Ciencias Ambientales (Madrid, Espagne) : Étude cartographique de la connectivité écologique dans le bassin versant du río Henares, collecte d’informations sur la gestion de l’eau et la biodiversité et gestion de site internet dans le cadre du « Projet Río Henares »

2015 : Stage dans le Parc National Puyehue (Région des Lacs, Chili) : Réalisation de l’herbier virtuel du parc, travail de terrain et animations d’éducation à l’environnement

2014 : Stage dans l'association de protection de l’environnement ATHENA (Loir et Cher) : Création d’un indice de biodiversité bocagère adapté au bocage du Perche, mise en oeuvre sur le terrain et présentation de l’outil au PNR du Perche

L’objectif du projet de thèse est de développer, expérimenter et comparer des méthodes permettant de coupler la modélisation des réseaux écologiques par les graphes paysagers et l’analyse de la structuration génétique et spatiale des populations. Ce couplage doit conduire à renforcer la dimension écologique des graphes paysagers, et donc leur aptitude à répondre à des questions opérationnelles de conservation et d’aménagement.

Il s'agit d'un travail en génétique du paysage, à l’interface entre d’une part l’écologie du paysage et la géographie et d’autre part la génétique des populations.

La thèse se déroule dans le cadre d'une convention CIFRE portée par l'entreprise ARP-Astrance. L’encadrement universitaire est assuré par Jean-Christophe FOLTÊTE (UMR ThéMA, directeur de thèse) et Stéphane GARNIER (UMR Biogéosciences, Dijon, co-directeur de thèse). Hervé MOAL de l'entreprise ARP-Astrance (Paris), assure l’encadrement opérationnel.

Co-représentant des doctorants au conseil du laboratoire ThéMA en 2019 et 2020

Enseignant vacataire en statistiques, écologie et géographie

Participation aux travaux de l'équipe de recherche développant le logiciel Graphab (projets Oriolus et Reaumur)

Membre de la Société Française d'Ecologie et d'Evolution (SFE2)

Reviewer pour le journal Molecular Ecology Resources

Génétique du paysage, Ecologie du paysage, Génétique des populations, Statistique spatiale, Analyse des réseaux

Articles publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture :

Savary, P., Foltête, J.C., Moal, H., Vuidel, G. & Garnier, S. 2021. Analysing landscape effects on dispersal networks and gene ow with genetic graphs. Molecular Ecology Resources

Savary, P., Foltête, J.C., Moal, H., Vuidel, G. & Garnier, S. 2020. graph4lg: a package for constructing and analysing graphs for landscape genetics in R. Methods in Ecology and Evolution

Foltête, J.C., Savary, P., Clauzel, C., Bourgeois, M., Girardet, X., Sahraoui, Y., Vuidel, G. & Garnier, S. 2020. Coupling landscape graph modeling and biological data: a review. Landscape Ecology, 1-18.

Communications internationales :

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., & Foltete, J. C. Analysing gene flow in heterogeneous landscapes: why and how to use genetic graphs? IALE World 2019, juillet 2019 - Milan [Communication orale]

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., & Foltête, J. C. Expanding genetic graphs' potential to analyse ecological connectivity: assessment of graphs construction methods. 6th Young Natural History Scientists' Meeting, mars 2019 - Paris [Communication orale]

Communications nationales :

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., Vuidel, G. & Foltête, J. C. Quand et comment utiliser les graphes génétiques pour analyser la connectivité écologique dans des paysages hétérogènes ? Rencontres d'Écologie des Paysages 2019, novembre 2019 - Bordeaux [Communication orale]

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., Vuidel, G., & Foltête, J. C. Quand et comment utiliser des graphes génétiques pour analyser le flux génétique dans des paysages hétérogènes? Petit Pois Déridé 2019, juin 2019 - Gif sur Yvette [Communication orale]

Posters :

Savary, P., Moal, H., Garnier, S., Vuidel, G. & Foltête, J. C. graph4lg: a package to construct graphs for landscape genetics on R. Rencontres d'Écologie des Paysages 2019, novembre 2019 - Bordeaux [Poster]

Savary P., Baudry J., Aviron S., Alignier A. Dynamique pluriannuelle des assemblages d'espèces de carabes en réponse à l'évolution du paysage et de sa gestion. Rencontres d'Ecologie des Paysages, octobre 2017 - Toulouse. [Poster]

Outils et applications :

Savary P. graph4lg: Build Graphs for Landscape Genetics Analysis. CRAN, juillet 2019. https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/graph4lg/index.html [R package]